Sean’s Dirty Thirty

It’s official, I am married to a 30 year old man! Today is Sean’s 30th birthday. Happy Birthday to the best husband and father me and SJ could ever ask for. I am so blessed to have spent the past 6 birthdays with you, and am glad that you celebrated this one a little bit more gracefully than your 25th (not by much though!) I love you so much and can’t wait to spend the next 100 birthdays with you!

This weekend to celebrate Sean’s milestone birthday, I threw a beer themed party at our home. I even sent out real paper invites (using wedding stamps we had leftover….girl’s gotta save money).

invite

Funny story – by case I just meant for people to bring a 6 pack of beer, but apparently a case is 18-24 beers….and people brought that many (we have good friends)! So, we may be throwing another party later in order to share the rest of this beer. The invites were made by ElleOL on Etsy and I am obsessed with how great they are. I used Kraft Paper envelopes to tie in with the party decor.

Bday-Decor

The colorful “30” birthday decor came from Party City and Sean’s mom sent it out to me, and I think it tied in really well with the overall theme. The Kraft Paper beer decor came from DownEmeryLane on Etsy and was customized to say “Sean’s Brew – 30 years of Hoppiness” and “30 years of Awesomeness”. I love how it all turned out. Everyone brought beer that fit into the 6 beer categories – Wit, Wheat, Hefeweizen, Seasonal, IPA, and Lager. We had a few stouts, but we just tossed those in where there was room. I had planned on having a tasting so everyone could try the beers that everyone else had brought because there was a lot of thought that our friends put into their purchases, but the UNC-Charlotte football game was being live streamed to the TV so it was hard to keep any of the men’s attention. (See how everyone in the bottom picture matches, they are serious fans.)

For food, I had a taco bar with shredded chicken, ground beef, and then salsas, tomatoes, cheese, and sour cream so everyone could make their own. I was planning on making funfetti cupcakes, since Sean loves them, but found a Blue Moon cupcake recipe and decided they’d be more appropriate. All you have to do is take yellow cake mix and substitute Blue Moon for the water/milk that is called for in the recipe. I think they turned out delicious!

IMG_2792

It was a very fun night and we ended it at Hooters with chicken wings and fireball shots. (By we, I mean Sean….he brought in his 30th year with a bang!)

On Sunday, we met up with Sean’s Aunt Missy, Uncle Keith and cousins Alan, Andrea, Allison and Allison’s daughters to celebrate Sean and Andrea’s 30th birthday. I know, I am surrounded by old people…..

We went to Eez Fusion in Birkdale VIllage because it is the best place to get delicious sushi in Charlotte. And obviously, sushi is the best way to celebrate one’s birthday. I always get the Tropical Storm roll, hold the sriracha and Sean gets a make your own with Tempura Shrimp, Filet Mignon, and Zucchini. It was a great time and we were able to take some really cute family photos in front of the fountain there.

IMG_2813 IMG_2815 IMG_2829

And of course, we need an obligatory SJ photo in this post in order to make sure I stick with a theme throughout my blog.

IMG_2806

I know, I’m dying too.

XOXO

nicole

2 thoughts on “Sean’s Dirty Thirty

Leave a Reply

