Wedding Wednesday: Daddy’s Girl

Happy Hump Day everyone!

Since I am recently married (May 12!), I have a lot of pictures that I have gone through and shown to my family, friends, and social media friends. I also really like the idea of having groups of pictures together with the stories and memories behind them. This Wedding Wednesday I wanted to discuss a girl’s first relationship, the one that teaches her how relationships are supposed to be and what she’s worth, the one with her father.

Growing up, I was an athlete – I played football, basketball, volleyball, soccer – and my dad made every game. I was the little boy he’d never had. We were very close and he has always been there for me through it all. You always hear that you have high standards because of how your daddy treats you – and that’s exactly how I was raised. I was raised to believe in myself and to not let others put me down. He was the reason I was able to find a man like Sean, who takes care of me when I am sick or sad and always supports me.

Getting married was the happiest day of my life so far….second to that had to be my College basketball senior night where I had fulfilled hopes and dreams that people had told me I couldn’t do – but not my parents. They told me to go for it if that’s what I wanted. My dad was at my first Pfeiffer tryout and at every home and away game of my basketball career until they moved to Florida. Having a daddy like that is rare – especially today with the way that teen pregnancy and single motherhood is becoming a rising issue. Having that Daddy walk me down the aisle to the man who is going to take care of me from this point forward was the best feeling in the world.

We walked down the aisle to “Amazed” by Lonestar and were able to make it without bursting into tears. He held me up even in my 5-inch heels, just like he’s held me up my whole. I don’t think you ever realize how magical those “Daddy-Daughter” moments can be until you experience them yourself. From the walk down the aisle to the Father-Daughter dance.

We danced at first to “Daddy’s Girl” by Red Sovine which then broke down into “Party Rock” by LMFAO. This was my dad’s idea, no joke. He called me up one day and asked to dance to the Hamster song from the Kia commercials. So thanks to the choreography skills of Brandi McCoy, my dad and I were able to have the perfect dance with just a week of practice.

All pictures are by the AMAZING Kristin Vining

I will try to put a clip of our video up for you to see – because it was an awesome dance! I love my Daddy so much and I am so blessed to have him as such a huge support system in my life over the past 24 years.

Hope you love the pictures and the story, this one really came from my heart and I really do pray that everyone gets the opportunity at their own wedding/birthday/holiday/whatever to have these kind of moments with that person who supported you most in life.

(Oh and PS, I didn’t forget about my mom – I am really blessed to have two overly supportive parents, so stay tuned next Wednesday to see my gorgeous Mama at our wedding.)

Until Next Time…

2 thoughts on “Wedding Wednesday: Daddy’s Girl

  1. I am so PROUD to have had MY girls, instead of boys, I am so very PROUD of and your sister, and no matter what, you and Samantha will always be Daddy’s Girls, Forever and always, I love you

Leave a Reply

